GRINGA – A Modern-day Love Story, The Original Ending

cover gringa original ending 18 sept 13

As some of you probably may have read before, I wrote GRINGA in 2009 after a horrible nightmare.
Yeah, I know what you’re going to say –sounds clichéd, the whole nightmare thing has been overdone, blah! blah! blah!

True.

But here’s the thing:
I was so terrified after that nightmare, I couldn’t go back to sleep.

The drug lord’s shooting, the bullet that came my way, (I saw it as it hurtled toward me) was so real and so terrifying, I woke my husband (by means of a kick to the shin, as I usually do) and told him about the dream.

I expected sympathy and comforting arms. Maybe a coke and some M&Ms.

I didn’t get any of that. Instead, I got a lecture (at 3 AM) about eating chocolate before bedtime while watching Sopranos re-runs. My usual routine.

Of course, I got mad at him for giving both chocolate (and The Sopranos) a bad rep and when he wouldn’t stop lecturing me, I shut him up by kicking him in the other shin.

Anyway, it took me days to get over the horrible dream.
I stopped writing Captured, which I was busy on, and started writing Gringa. The words flowed like alcohol at a Real Housewives of Miami lingerie party!

It took me a year to write Gringa, and the feedback I got about Payton’s character from my writing group, which consisted of authors, some published, some who spoke like they had a hot potato in their mouths, well, they didn’t like her character.
Too feisty, too rude, too crude and she had no filter, they complained.

Mm. I was in a bind. Should I change her character, I wondered? Make her more likable? I wanted to, but after much thought, I looked my fellow writers straight in the eye and said, “Fuck you and your PhDs, you boring ass hoes, I’m staying true to Payton’s character.”

Well, I didn’t quite say it to them, I said it to myself. But that’s what I would have told them had I more time.
Or guts. 

What I did do was press my full lips together, point my pencil at them and say, “Mm, you have a point there.”
(They then swallowed the hot potato. I think.)

Anyho, to me Payton’s character was so entertaining without a filter that I had to chance it and let her be.

It worked – just about every reader of Gringa tells me that they love Payton’s character.
I am glad I did not listen to my esteemed group of fellow swallowers. Er, writers. On that aspect, that is.

As for Diago, I hated the fargin sonofabitch in the beginning, but like Payton, I grew to loooove him.

In the original ending of Gringa, which I changed after umpteen requests, I cried buckets as I wrote.
I even cried during my many re-writes! (I am a cry baby, btw. I even cried while watching Lion King.)

I enjoyed the company of every single character in Gringa, including Tongue the fargin SOB, and Christa, the fargin nympho!
They all brought something to the table as many of my readers pointed out.

And…Gringa reached no 1 on amazon.com!

After repeated requests for the original version of Gringa, I’v decided to re-publish it.
But it will be free to those who have already purchased the Gringa book/series.

To get your free copy of Gringa – Since You’ve Been Gone, please contact moi via Facebook or this blog.

Oh, and make sure you have a white, lacy handkerchief ready.

(Has to be white and lacy like in the movies. And I said, white, lacy, hand…ker…chief. )

Okay, fine, Kleenex will do. Just make sure it’s scented with Aloe Vera or something. Except chloroform. It makes me sneeze.

Oh, as for my bad dreams, the chocolate and The Sopranos… a few things have happened since.

1)   I traded my husband for a new one. The new one’s mute. He’s perfect, I tell you. Doesn’t even cry out when I kick him in the shin.

2)   I no longer eat chocolate before bed. All I have is chocolate milkshake. Or hot chocolate with marshmallows, one pink, one white.

Whaaaat? I’m not eating it.

3)   To prevent more nightmares, after watching Soprano re-runs, I watch something antidoty (is that a word? It should be.), something sweet like Glee. Or Barney.

I’m happy to report, I’ve had no nightmares since.
On a happier note, what do you think of the latest cover? (Attached. )

And yes, that is me on the cover.

Kidding!

http://www.amazon.com/Gringa-Modern-day-Complete-Series-ebook/dp/B00CWF18RK

cover gringa series from amazon 3 sept 13

http://www.amazon.com/Gringa-Modern-day-Complete-Series-ebook/dp/B00CWF18RK

About Eve Rabi Author

EVE RABI is the author of 28 romantic crime & suspense thrillers, 5 screenplays and a number of short stories in the process of being published. She is known for her kick-ass leading ladies, her sense of humor and her no-holes barred love stories. To quote an Amazon reviewer: “Eve Rabi is a 5 star general. Different, excellent, unputdownable. Eve Rabi is the lady for now and the Future.” For more info on Eve Rabi's books, visit http://amzn.to/178qMZY

Posted on September 18, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Husbands who complain when they are kicked in the shin are a poor lot, and I’m pleased to hear the new one is much quieter. I loved your account of the silent conversation you had with your writing group, and that you proved them wrong. Yippee

  2. You are not the first author who has not followed the advice of her ‘too tame’ writing goup – thank goodness you didn’t! I love the characters. 🙂

  3. “Too feisty, too rude, too crude and she had no filter” Sounds like the Wal-Mart clerk I dealt with awhile back!

  4. Can you please send me the original version of Gringa to read. Love Gringa and Burns’world

    Thanks

  1. Pingback: GRINGA – A Modern-day Love Story, The Original Ending | Eve Rabi

Leave a Reply

