SET FIRE TO THE RAIN… What does it mean, Adele?

99Image

I’ve always loved this song, and when I listened to it today, while I was cooking a healthy stir fry, (okay fine, I wasn’t cooking a healthy stir fry; I was paying for a McDonald’s triple bacon cheeseburger, fries and a shake.) I wondered what the lyrics meant?

I decided to check it out.

During an interview about Set Fire to the Rain, Adele described it as ‘burning’ the pain of heartbreak in order to rid herself of it.

Of course, it’s a song about liberation and triumph — getting over heartbreak, saying adios to a two-faced jerk who said things that were ‘never true’ and who would ‘always win’ at whatever game he played. (Hey, how does Adele know my ex?)

I love it when you have to work out the lyrics, find the meaning of a poignant song, especially a love song.

But I gotta tell you; it comes a lot quicker to you if you’re high. But the danger there, is that while you’re high, you may end up setting fire to the asshole, instead of the rain.

Okay, okay, okay! Strike that, I’m kidding!

Anyho, in Burn’s World, A love Triangle, Burn set fire to the rain’  when she walked away from her first love Brody McGraw.

It was Trojan who ‘rose to claim it’ (her heart, that is, not her ass. Well, her ass too).

Even though he was a street thug who initially only wanted her because she belonged to Brody; he eventually fell in love with her, ‘kissed her lips’ and saved her.

But although Burn loved Trojan, she could never get over her first love, the man who broke her heart, Brody McGraw.

He couldn’t get over her either, and years later, when he returned to to his hometown, he was consumed with jealousy at the sight of Burn and Trojan together and set out to destroy Trojan.

The only way Burn could stop Brody and save Trojan, was to betray Trojan.

Image

Read about Burn’s love triangle, by clicking on the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/BURNS-WORLD-Series-Set-ebook/dp/B00CYQOG5I

Oh, and that picture of me on Audi’s billboard? A fan (some may call him a stalker) took my photo from Facebook and worked his magic on it. I’m thrilled, so I thought I’d show off a li’l. 🙂 🙂

About Eve Rabi Author

EVE RABI is the author of 26 romantic crime & suspense thrillers, 5 screenplays and a number of short stories in the process of being published. She is known for her kick-ass leading ladies, her sense of humor and her no-holes barred love stories. To quote an Amazon reviewer: “Eve Rabi is a 5 star general. Different, excellent, unputdownable. Eve Rabi is the lady for now and the Future.” For more info on Eve Rabi's books, visit http://amzn.to/178qMZY

Posted on September 9, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Adele’s voice is magic, isn’t it? As is your billboard. Yay for stalkers…err…fans.

Leave a Reply

