Book blog tour

Hi, I’m Eve Rabi and welcome to my blog tour.
Take your shoes off, grab a chardonnay, kick back and enjoy as I answer your questions, cos this is how we do it. 

Before I go any further, I’d like to say thank you to Louise West for tagging me.

What is the title of you book?

My book is called Burn’s World.

cover burn book one  25 JAN 2013

It’s a love triangle:
Burn Ballantyne – a young girl of mixed race, who is caught between the two loves of her life

Brody McGraw – he’s white, ambitious and decent, but from a racist family who shuns Burn.

Trojan Catrell – a street thug and an enemy of Brody’s. He is determined to get Burn, knowing that her heart belongs to Brody.

We first meet Burn in high school and she takes us through life with her till she becomes an adult.

Here’s what reader had to say:
“I love the characters in this book. They all have different qualities that tie the book together. Burn has such a fantastic personality from the first page I was gripped I literally finished it within 3 hours. Overall freaking loved and so bloody funny near peed my pants. Am looking forward to reading next one.”

Where did the idea come from?
Well, there was this one time …

Okay, seriously, I was a very spirited teen. (Some would call me mouthy, sassy, full of crap, someone who hated structure and disrupted the class, someone who gave her mother lip, someone who …well, they are lying.)

My story is based a lot on my experiences and from experiences of those who were around me during my teens.

Anyho, I wrote this short story for my daughters once. They loved it so much and badgered me to keep writing. So I went ahead and wrote it. A sedate draft.
Now, to their frustration, they will not be able to read it, as it is for mature readers. About a teen, but for young adults and adults who are young at heart.
I have, however, given my children permission to read all my books .
When I’m dead.
They don’t have to wait for my body to get cold or anything, just my death certificate from our family doctor will do. Even from a witchdoctor is fine.

What genre does your book fall under?
Young adult, but for mature readers because of the cussing and swearing and the …well, you have to read it and you will know.
Here’s the link if you can’t wait to read it:
http://www.amazon.com/BURNS-WORLD-Book-Series-ebook/dp/B00B60PXR

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?
Mm. If Jennifer Aniston was twenty years younger and if she had a half-black sister with curly hair and brown eyes, that sister would play Burn. Jennifer is naturally funny and I like that.
Brody—Channing Tatum, who else.

Trojan – he’s black and badass so lemme think …not Bobby Brown, not Puff Daddy, not 50 cents, not Eminem, not Oprah, not Justin Timberlake…I’ll come back to you on this one.
(Check out the video link and maybe you can tell me. If I do chose that person for the movie, I will give you $100 million. Yes, you heard correctly. I may have to issue you with an IOU first, but after a while, you’ll be able to upsize your McDonald’s happy meal with ease.)

I’d want to have a say in the casting, of course, cos who knows the characters better than I do? I conjured them. They all will have to be flawed characters though. There’s no real entertainment in goody-two-shoes.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Mm, lemme think. Okay, I got it:
I’m lying alone with my head on the phone, thinking of you till it hurts, I know you hurt too, but what else can we do, tormented and torn apart. (And yes, that is one sentence.)

6. How long did it take to write the first draft of the manuscript?
I wrote it in a month. I’m a speed writer. (And a speed eater.)
It was at the expense of everything though. I basically shut the world out so that I could create and it was the most fun I had. I even ignored my children and my dog and cat, but only gave them some attention to prevent them from calling social services.
Sometimes when they gave me lip, I myself thought about calling social services on me. I pictured my house all to myself with no-one to complain about the dirty dishes etc. But, I didn’t cos I didn’t want my ex-husband to stop his generous monthly payments, know what I’m sayin’?’

7. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Besides the bible?
Okay, okay, I’m kidding.
Gringa-In the Clutches of a Ruthless Drug Lord
The Wages of Sinead
If you’ve enjoyed these two books, you will definitely enjoy Burn’s World.
However, when it comes to movies – Superbad and American Pie are the movies that come to mind. I’m a fan of Seth Rogan, Amy Pohler, Tina Fey, Chelsea Handler, Sasha Baron Cohen, Tarrantino, Sarah Silverman.

8. Who or what inspired you to write this book?
My kids inspired me to write this particular book. And I share my success with them. I’ve rewarded them handsomely – a bag of blue M&Ms each. What can I say – I’m generous to a fault 
My readers badgered me about writing a sequel to Gringa – In the Clutches of a Ruthless Drug Lord. They loved the sassiness of Payton’s character.
I didn’t want to, but Burn was a character I was nursing for a while. Once I started writing, I couldn’t stop.

9.What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
The humor. Also, the sex scenes, the swearing, the violence, the drug references, the off-beat characters, the racial slurs, the shocking dialogue – all the things that will probably get it banned.
Actually, if you want to be shocked back to life and you don’t want to use a defibrillator, you should read it.
The reader has to have a warped sense of humor. Like I have. 

Here is the video of Burn’s World:

I hope you enjoy it. Please like it as well.
If you would like to be further shocked, please click on link below:

What readers are saying about Burn’s World:
“I genuinely loved this. I totally “got” Burn. I liked her kickass personality and just everything about her. Even though I am a 32 years old and white I could relate to her – if that makes sense to you? I “felt” her.

“This second book was great, for me it was even better than the first one. There were so many emotions flowing and I loved it!”

“I’m not sure if I like Gringa better, or Burn’s World, but I can tell you omg…I was hooked from page one when I started reading Burn’s Wrld. Burn is real, kickass, funny too. She’s someone I would love to take on holiday. Lol. Lots of cussing, racial remarks, sexual reference and I didn’t like that the books were so short.  Overall, I loved the series, loved Trojan too. I laughed so much! I cried too. Overall, I definitely recommend it.”

I must say I love Eve Rabi’s books but this by far was my favorite series!! It will keep you on edge!!

Letter from my someone who edited Burn’s World:
Hi Eve,
One of the things I like about these gigs is I get to read things I wouldn’t normally gravitate to, either because they’re not in my usual genres or simply because I don’t know they exist. Most of the time, honestly, they’re dreck. And then I continue to feel superior.
But every once-in-a-rare-while, I come across something that is at the complete opposite end of the dreck spectrum. Something like Burn’s World. And then I feel humbled.
What a great book, Eve! As I alluded to last night, I was so drawn into the story–all of it, the characters, the humor, the drama, and the rollercoaster plot–that it took me awhile to finish, as I was reading twice, once for pleasure and once for proofing.
Anyway, I hope my edits are helpful. I realize there’s wiggle-room on many of them. And I also realize we may have differences regarding American vs. British usages. Obviously, I went with what I’m familiar with.
Best of luck with the book! I hope to work with you again soon. (Gotta find out what happens with Burn and Trojan!)
Regards,
B

In this blog I’m tagging:

H. Raven Rose

Clarissa Cartham

JP Hanson

Elodie Parkes

About Eve Rabi Author

EVE RABI is the author of 26 romantic crime & suspense thrillers, 5 screenplays and a number of short stories in the process of being published. She is known for her kick-ass leading ladies, her sense of humor and her no-holes barred love stories. To quote an Amazon reviewer: “Eve Rabi is a 5 star general. Different, excellent, unputdownable. Eve Rabi is the lady for now and the Future.” For more info on Eve Rabi's books, visit http://amzn.to/178qMZY

Posted on February 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

